RSS Feed

My new shower curtain!

Posted on

Ok, it may not be as exciting as other subjects… But I’ve got one bathroom in this house which is from the end of the 70’s. You know, the brownish-greenish-yellowish kind… And since we are not gonna do a bathroom redo I was longing for a small any change.

When we bought the house 7 years ago, the previous landlords left this shower curtain…

DSC_1153

I had looked out and about for a new one and it was too hard to find something that will fit the bill in color term. Puke color isn’t trendy nowadays… 😉

fabric for my new shower curtain to be!

Enter this fabric i found at the thrift store for less than one buck . I had it stashed  in my overcrowded sewing room for a couple of weeks and was even considering returning it where I took it when… it stroked… It. was. fitting. my. bathroom. Oh yeah!

But I didn’t have enough of it so I needed to go to the fabric store to buy something to complete it… I know. Sad.

I came home with those (hey look! the yellow fabric is even the same as the bathroom tiles!)

DSC_1654

and started working. I even took pictures to make a tutorial. Unfortunately I was way too tired to be working on such a big project and miscalculated the whole thing… On the plus size. Lucky me! In the end it all worked out and I even hung the thing up with new curtain rings!

DSC_1664

And looked at it. Hard. I think, while doing it, unconsciously my mind envisioned  the shower curtain making a big change… you know, like making the bathroom looks great! Not. it’s still the same old bathroom. Disappointment. But when I asked hubby about it he said he really really liked it.  I may say nothing’s lost 😉

My new shower curtain!

When it will be time for it to go in the wash, I will sew the contrasting bands down because I don’t like the flapping look. But I’ll wait. I’m way too lazy to take it down now!

Un brin de français!

DOnc, j’étais pas mal tannée de voir le rideau de douche que l’ancien proprio (voilà 7 ans!) nous avait laissé. J’ai bien cherché partout pour en trouver un nouveau, mais faut croire que la couleur vomi n’est pas très à la mode 😉 J’avais ramené un tissu du centre bénévole et ne savais pas trop quoi faire avec, quand l’idée de génie est venue… Le tissu allait avec les couleurs de notre seule et unique salle de bain! Je me suis donc attelée à la tâche et j’en ai donc fait un rideau de douche (à l’aide de 2 autres tissus achetés au Club tissus!).  Mais déception de ma part… J’avais imaginé que le rideau “changerait” la salle de bain… vous savez, au fond de moi-même j’avais un peu l’espoir d’avoir une plus belle salle de bain. Mais non, c’est toujours la même avec un nouveau rideau. Quand j’ai demandé à mon mari ce qu’il en pensait, j’ai eu droit à un “J’aime vraiment beaucoup!”. Donc tout n’est pas perdu! 😉

About Cul de Sac

Hi there! Love crafting and sewing, taking pictures and show it all :)

8 responses »

  1. It looks great! Love those colors together! 🙂

    Reply
  2. That fabric was perfect!!!! Looks much better now!

    Reply
  3. I think it looks a lot more modern Josée =)

    Reply
  4. Marvelous! Yours looks lovely, and matches the room beautifully! I did something similar several years ago, but had problems when it came to attaching it somehow to the rings… or getting holes bound. ( No button holes available from my current sewing machine.) If you do your tutorial, I’ll be sure to watch and see what you did! Thanks again – am enjoying your blog!

    Reply

Leave a comment