RSS Feed

A pause from sewing

English, Français

I have to take a pause from my sewing as we have a project going that needed to be attended to…. I was kind of reluctant  starting it as it seems quite overwhelming. But since I started it this morning it went smoothly  ;) My dad made us new stairs to replace the ugly (really ugly) ones we have in the house but he couldn’t stain nor varnish them because there’s too much saw dust in his atelier. I had them for a couple of weeks now but just kept putting them aside. I did all the staining today and will begin the varnishing wednesday! I like the way the stain makes the veins appears. Kind of reminded me when I was little and my grandma would take out some bucket of water and brushes and my little brother and I would spend hours “painting” the fence lol! Our new stairs are made from the best grade red oak🙂

I’ve started a new board for the techniques I want to learn this year, YAY!

J’ai du mettre de côté ma couture pour le moment vu que j’ai un gros projet qui a besoin de mon attention😉 Ça fait déjà plusieurs semaines que mon père nous a livré la marchandise, mais je mettais la chose de côté… ça avait l’air tellement d’ouvrage… Mais voilà, je m’y suis mise ce matin, et j’ai terminé la teinture (marches et contre-marches)! Je commencerai le verni mercredi. Mon père ne pouvait pas les teindre et les vernir lui-même; il y a trop de bran de scie dans son atelier. On est chanceux, de belles marches en chêne rouge😉 J’aime beaucoup faire de la teinture, ça fait ressortir le veinage du bois presque magiquement! Ça me rappelle quand mon frère et moi étions petits et que ma grand-mère nous sortait un sceau d’eau et des pinceaux. On pouvait passer des heures à “peindre” la clôture, ha!

J’ai commencé un nouveau babillard pour les nouvelles techniques que j’aimerais apprendre cette année. YOUpI!

About Cul de Sac

Hi there! Love crafting and sewing, taking pictures and show it all :)

One response »

  1. Thanks for your kind comment! I’m a very novice blog writter too and I try to be truthful to myself, talk about what I like and what I do…😉 hope I had a magical recipe for blogging though! Good luck with yours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

