RSS Feed

and one crossed

Posted on

Français, english

Remember my resolution to try new techniques this year?! I’m glad to report that I’ve crossed one thing on the list! It’s been awhile since I saw a tutorial on how to do reverse appliqué and I’ve been itching ever since to try my hand at it. I had this black t-shirt lying around that was still fitting but it was a bit short length wise. Remember also that t-shirt that I used to make a waist band on a skirt? Well it got to be used again🙂 The less trash, the more happy I am!

Est-ce que vous vous souvenez que ma résolution cette année était d’essayer de nouvelles techniques? Eh bien, j’ai déjà un trait de fait sur ma liste! Ça faisait un bout que j’avais vu un tutorat sur comment faire un appliqué inverse et j’avais depuis, bien envie de l’essayer. J’ai donc utilisé un t-shirt noir qui me faisait encore quoique un peu court sur la longueur et je me suis adonnée à un peu de chirurgie😉 Je ne sais pas si vous vous souvenez du t-shirt que j’ai utilisé pour faire la bande de taille d’une jupe? Eh bien, vous le reverrez à nouveau! Moins il y a de gaspillage, plus je suis heureuse, ha!

I first started by adding the hem of the turquoise t-shirt on the black one so it will be longer (since I cut it without thinking first I didn’t had that much fabric to play with here…) Then I freehand draw something that seems ok on the front (using an old bar of soap) and TRIED it before anything else. You really DON’T want your design to be placed somewhere crucial (a big circle on part of your breast might seems quite awkward) when you are happy with the results, bring your embroidery floss on!

J’ai tout d’abord commencé par ajouter ce qui me restait de l’ourlet du t-shirt turquoise au bas du chandail noir, question d’allonger le tout (et puisque je n’ai pas vraiment réfléchi avant de couper le turquoise, je n’avais pas beaucoup de jeu question tissu). Puis j’ai dessiné à main levée quelque chose qui me paraissait bien beau😉 Puis, j’ai ESSAYÉ le chandail.  Étape cruciale s’il en est une! Vous ne voulez vraiment pas avoir une partie de votre design qui passe au mauvais endroit (un gros cercle de couleur sur la poitrine pourrait faire vraiment “bizarre” si vous comprenez ce que je veux dire!) Quand le résultat vous satisfait, sortez votre fil à broder!

Put the contrasting fabric underneath your design (use t-shirt fabric if you doing it on a t-shirt since cotton doesn’t stretch as much it may prevent your shirt from fitting correctly) . Pin it into place and start embroidering! I used a backstitch for this and didn’t put too much tension on my thread (forgot to say that I used 3 ply out of the 6). Once you embroidered all your lines you can cut with embroidery scissors about 1/8″ from your lines being careful not to cut the fabric underneath. And Taadaah! you are done!! Isn’t easy?? Can’t wait to wear this one. If the weather could be warmer now😉

Placez un bout de tissu contrastant dessous le devant de votre chandail et épinglez bien. Commencez à broder (j’ai utilisé le point arrière et 3 brins de fil sur les 6) sans mettre trop de tension dans votre fil. Une fois que tous les lignes sont faites, avec des ciseaux à broder couper le tissu du chandail à 1/2cm de vos lignes en faisant attention de ne pas couper le tissu contrastant. Et taaadaaah! c’est terminé! Facile n’est-ce pas??! J’ai bien hâte de porter celui-ci! j’attends juste un peu plus de chaleur😉

About Cul de Sac

Hi there! Love crafting and sewing, taking pictures and show it all :)

4 responses »

  1. nice job. Must be bookmarked:)

    Reply
  2. I have to try this soon. Looks like fun! Love your design!
    Beth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

