RSS Feed

Hand dying try

Posted on

hand dying tutorial
Yep! I tried to hand dye some stuff and I’m glad I did🙂 I wanted to try this for awhile but never really took time to do so.

I had a white cami for months that I wanted to use to make a dress but it was a bit stained on an armhole. So why not overdye it a new color? and since I was going to make a dye bath why not throw in some lace?!

DSC_8908
Here is what I did if in case you would do it yourself.

DSC_8911

I used powder dye from the dollar store. It is good for one pound of cotton, silk, spandex and viscose.  Two boxes is good for nylon acetate, rayon and wool.
I basically followed  the instructions in the box. BUT, next time I will use boiling water, not only hot tap water as it didn’t dissolve all of the powder.

DSC_8914

So, use boiling water (enough to cover the clothes you want to over dye) and add your powder. Note. I did it in my inox sink. I wouldn’t do it in the washing machine as they propose on the box. Nor in a stainable sink or bowl.

DSC_8918

Put on some gloves if you don’t want to have weird colored skin. I dissolved it using a wooden spoon (that you won’t use for cooking anymore).

DSC_8905

I weighted what I wanted to use to know if I had more than a pound. Was ok on that and even put more lace in it😉

DSC_8913

I hand washed everything quickly and rinse thoroughly (your clothes need to be wet through).

DSC_8917

And just added it to the dye bath. Swished it for a bit and let it soak for 20 minutes (swishing once in a while).
Here’s the results:

DSC_8921

DSC_8923

It says on the box you need to let your fabric dye until you reach a bit more darker than what you want because it does get paler when it’s dried. Here the lace and cami are straight from the dye bath. I was so glad with the lace, now I have nice purple-lavender laces!

Stay tune for what I’ll do with the Cami!

About Cul de Sac

Hi there! Love crafting and sewing, taking pictures and show it all :)

Leave a Reply

