RSS Feed

Rhubarb orange compote

Posted on

It’s rhubarb time here in Québec

rhubarb

I thought I’d share a recipe that is a big hit in this house.

Rhubarb orange compote

My son just loves it😉

Rhubarb orange compote

My mom-im-law made this a couple of years ago, and it has become a classic.

If you want to try it you’ll need for one batch:

  • 4 cups (one liter) of chop rhubarb (fresh or frozen, doesn’t matter)
  • 1/2 orange rind, grated
  • 1 cup of sugar (I use fructose and put a bit less)
  • 3 tablespoons of water

Rhubarb orange compote

I like to do a couple of batches at once. This time I did 3 batches so I used, 12 cups rhubarb; 2 orange rind; 2 1/2 cup of fructose and about 1/3 cup of water.

Chop your rhubarb and grate your oranges.

Rhubarb orange compote

Add the sugar and water, mix and bring to a boil. Let simmer until it has the texture you want (we like it with bits of rhubarb still left!)

Rhubarb orange compote

Pour in jar, put the lids on and let cool.

Rhubarb orange compote

When cool enough store in fridge for a couple of weeks or keep it in the freezer for a winter sweetness!

Rhubarb orange compote

About Cul de Sac

Hi there! Love crafting and sewing, taking pictures and show it all :)

12 responses »

  1. YUM . . . and lovely photos! My daughter-in-law just posted a different rhubarb recipe on her cooking blog. I got some for Mother’s Day so I can attest to its deliciousness!🙂 http://www.consumedcooking.com/2012/05/rhubarb-strawberry-sauce-for-mom.html#more

    Reply
  2. I just bought rhubarb…this sounds terrific.

    Reply
  3. I love the idea of this variation! I should really grow some rhubarb so I can stop spending $$ on it at the market! Thanks for the idea!🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks! You really should! If you know someone who has rhubarb plants you could ask for a bit and plant it at your place, you should be good to harvest it in 2 summers…

      Reply
  4. This is soooooo good!!! Yum!!! Just finished making it and am waiting for my cans to be warm enough to start packing. Wish I had enough rhubarb to make more than one batch. 😦 Maybe next week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

