RSS Feed

Finally!

Posted on

I’ve been wanting for a long time a plank of plywood to use as a photo background. Not knowing we had it home stored somewhere. Duh. MY hubby kindly cut it off to fit the table. Now I have a background for my pictures. AND a background for birthday parties! YAY! I really like the distressed look for wood so I went to work on it a bit.

Here’s a small tutorial if you want to have one yourself.

distressed background tutorial

First, since it was stored for a long time and it was used for a seeding table,  I vacuumed  it🙂

then I paint a coat of white, roughly, without thinking too much.

distressed background how-to

That was the easy part  ha.

white paint finish:

distressed background how-to

Then, I sanded it here and there (sorry no picture for this one!)

And I used some steel wool to give a grey finish a bit everywhere…

distressed background how to

I really like the finished look! And I can ham a nail on it to hang my handbags! It will be so much easier to use than my rolling blind (that keeps falling off)🙂

distressed background how-to

I started to use it to take pictures ….

special order for a wedding!

It is much easier to edit with this back ground than a white toile and I think light is more diffuse too, less harsh.

Pickle holder, vintage tupperware!

I can put it standing up or lying down, and I think I’ll use the left over and do the same process so I’ll have both a back ground and a table top. I think pictures will look better than with white cardboard…

DSC_0330

I’ll be using it for Julien’s birthday too, I’ll post some pictures soon!

P’tit résumé pour mon amie de la rue Brion! (hihi) donc une explication du procédé que j’ai utilisé pour vieillir une planche de Plywood afin d’avoir un fond pour mes photos. J’ai juste peinturé une couche de blanc vite, vite, sablé un peu partout et frotté avec une laine d’acier pour vieillir un peu plus! Ça fait cool hein??! 

About Cul de Sac

Hi there! Love crafting and sewing, taking pictures and show it all :)

6 responses »

  1. I love it! What a brilliant idea. Noticed the new background on the photos you posted of the wedding bags you made and wondered what you did. Clever.

    Reply
  2. i love this. i swear it’s like you’re in my brain sometimes! i’ve been wanting to paint wood for a backdrop too. my white living room (i mean photo sttudio) walls will soon be painted yellow, so i can no longer use them as my backdrop.

    Reply
    • I am sure we were sisters in another life… Please, do post pictures so I can see what you have come up with!!! I”m sure it will be even better than mine😉

      Reply
  3. What a great idea to have a backdrop for photos. I’ve been playing with fabrics but I like this idea. Good job! Love the cup to display earrings too. I never did have a good solution for that.

    Reply
    • Thanks! I have a tutorial on how to distress plywood to use as a backdrop! You could use old pallets too, that would be interesting… You know, when I want to take interesting pictures and display stuff i just look around the house, sooo many options🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

