RSS Feed

all about mittens

Two of my kiddos had winter scouts camp last week end… and we realized, while making luggage, that we were low on mittens stock.

Entire pairs got lost, some were single.

Enter mommy and her sewing machine🙂

I went a bit crazy and cut up 12 pairs of mittens, I needed new stuff for the shop so I just went for it (they still need to be sewn up lol)

eco friendly recycled sweaters mittens

Made Camille a pair, which she didn’t brought after all since we found more mittens stashed away (read: lying at the back of her wardrobe) she decides to keep them for more dressy occasions (like going to school…)

eco friendly recycled sweaters mittens

My son was pretty happy with his (in his fave colors of course!) which surprised me since he’s more the gloves type. I’m glad they are getting worn😉

And I knitted a pair for myself too! love fingerless mitts, and loved knitting them🙂

one cable mitts fingerless

I had made a shawl in 2010 that never was worn since it was way too small.

frogged 200 yards of heaven
(sorry for the really bad picture, that was taken in my previous life, without my Nikon!)

Yarn was soft and so cushy (wool, cashmere and cotton blend reclaimed by a nice lady!) so unravelled it and got to play with this yarn again…

one cable mitts fingerless

pattern is one cable mitts.  project page here

one cable mitts fingerless

And I made great progress on my shawl!!!  2 rows to go and I’ll start last chart… YAY! love it with beads🙂

ethereal shawl with beads progress

 

Les 2 grands avaient leur camp scout en fin de semaine passée et en faisant les bagages nous nous sommes rendus compte qu’il y avait plusieurs paires de mitaines qui manquaient à l’appel… J’en ai donc taillé 12 pairs! 10 iront dans ma boutique aussitôt qu’elles seront cousues.  Camille a finalement décidé qu’elle garderait les siennes pour des occasions plus spéciales (genre aller à l’école..!) et mon garçon était très content des siennes ce qui m’a surprise un peu vu qu’il préfère habituellement les gants. J’en ai aussi tricoté pour mon moi🙂  J’avais fait un châle en 2010 que je n’ai jamais porté vu qu’il était beaucoup trop petit,  je l’ai donc défait et me suis refait de belles mitaines pas de doigts! Mon châle avance bien aussi, j’en suis presqu’aux derniers miles!

About Cul de Sac

Hi there! Love crafting and sewing, taking pictures and show it all :)

15 responses »

  1. Oh! I love them all🙂 you are so talented, those blue fingerless mitts are so pretty!🙂 btw, your pictures look great🙂 I have a nice Canon and believe it or not I can’t figure it out😉 can’t wait to see your shawl, the colour you choose looks beautiful🙂

    Reply
    • Ooh, thank you so much! I do like the fingerless mitts a lot, but next ime i’ll go down one needle size since they are a bit big😉 can’t wait to see that shawl finished too!

      Reply
  2. I agree, not only are the mittens beautiful, but so are your photos of them!!!
    Beth

    Reply
  3. Love the mittens — and you made 12 pairs? Wow! I love those fingerless mitts and have sworn that I have to add some to my queue to make.

    But that shawl with the beads? Positively gorgeous! Do you find knitting with beads to be fiddly or sort of entertaining (like, “Yay, I get to add another bead now!”)? The color of that shawl and the fact that you’re making it with beads is so inspiring — even to a complete lace knitting novice like myself!

    Reply
    • grrr, it’s the third time I’ll be writting my reply…
      Thanks for the great compliment! actually, I cut 12 pairs of mittens but 10 still need to be sewn up🙂
      Fingerless mitts are soo easy… but you are the one who knitted gloves so! I love knitting with beads, so easy and you get a bonus of sparkles! If you can follow a chart, you would have no problem knitting a lacy shawl, so much more interesting than scarves which repeat the same rows over and over again…

      Reply
      • I’m loving the phrase “A Bonus of Sparkles!” Doesn’t that seem like it would be the perfect name of a beaded shawl?

        And my daughter is all about those beads. She saw one in a magazine or somewhere… and thought it was the most beautiful thing in the world. I really should put a lace shawl in my queue, just for the experience of making one!

      • Ishbel pattern is one ofmy fave and really easy to do since the beginning is stockinette with a lace border (that you can bead:))

      • And going to change the shawl’s name asap… Love your idea !!!!!

  4. Beautiful choices of yarns, and colors. Mtetar

    Reply
  5. I have said this before, but your creativity and talent is amazing! Well done! ~Thea

    Reply
  6. Knitting is something I’ve not mastered, but I really admire those who do. You are seeew talented!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

