RSS Feed

Old spice…

Posted on

It has been awhile… I really wanted to try my hand at refinishing a furniture (didn’t have anything particular in mind.). But 2 things always got in the way:

First I don’t have lots of space for this big of a project.

Second, time… Just can’t have enough for all the projects I wanna do!

Butttt, I found something that wasn’t taking too much space and would not take too much time! An old spice cabinet!

Spice cabinet redo

I found this one at the thrift shop for a whooping one buck. It was screaming seventies and was just plain ugly. Why not try to rejuvenate  it? or should I say,  age it?!

Let’s go for a…

Spice cabinet redo
I almost used the same technique as in my plywood background tut .

Firstly, I sanded the thing slightly.

Then, put a coat of primer (I used some leftover from the girls room painting).

Painted 2 coat of matted white  paint (again from leftovers). Here it is after its 2 coats of paint.

Spice cabinet redo

Already better looking isn’t it?!

Sanded it with a 120 grit sand paper and used a steel wool to add more aging.

Spice cabinet redo
I really like it, and I think it’s looking so much better now! It will find a home in my sewing room and will be useful holding my bead jars…

Spice cabinet redo

unless Camille claims it…

Spice cabinet redo

(Has anyone noticed my “new” second plywood?? hehe)

If you wanna see a before/after picture…

Spice cabinet redo

I used some frames I sprayed paint white for Camille’s room as a prop in the photo booth we did for Julien’s birthday. They ended up all chipped after the day so I decided to distressed them too! (I think I’m addicted…)

distressed frames

I love the way the old gold paint is showing under 🙂

distressed frames

 

Pour ma belle amie! 

Un petit changement pour une vieille armoire à épices achetée 1$ au centre bénévole! À peu près la même technique que mon plywood… Sablage, primer, 2 couches de peinture, sablage léger avec du 120 et laine d’acier pour vieillir un peu plus! Les cadres sont ceux de Camille que nous avions utilisé pour les photos durant la fête de Julien. Vu qu’ils étaient un peu maganés, j’ai vieilli un peu ceux-là aussi! On voit donc la peinture originale qui était dorée 😉

About Cul de Sac

Hi there! Love crafting and sewing, taking pictures and show it all :)

2 responses »

  1. That turned out beautifully!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment